Eight Alumni to be Inducted into OSUIT Hall of Fame

2017 Alumni Hall of Fame inductees

OSU Institute of Technology will recognize eight outstanding alumni and induct them into the OSUIT Hall of Fame at the annual Alumni Homecoming Reception Saturday, June 17, at 4 p.m. in Covelle Hall on the campus of OSUIT.

Induction into the Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed by OSUIT, recognizing alumni and former students for outstanding achievement in both civic duty and professional life.

“Alumni are a tremendous source of encouragement, loyalty and support. This event is one way we can show how much we appreciate them,” said Bruce Force, director of Student Life and alumni relations liaison. “Having them on campus is a great opportunity to reconnect.”

The reception is a chance for OSUIT alumni to see old friends and meet new ones, walk around the campus and visit with current and former instructors.

“The reunion is a great time for everyone: the honored alumni, their families and friends, and those of us from OSUIT,” Force said. “The continued connection from alumni is an enormous benefit to the university, and this event gives us a forum to acknowledge their successes while giving them a chance to revisit a formative time in their own lives.”

In the Hall of Fame’s fourth year, five individuals will be added as Distinguished Alumni, those who are established in their professions and whose career accomplishments have been outstanding, and three will be added as Rising Stars, those alumni who have demonstrated significant or outstanding accomplishments within their first 10 years of graduation.

Distinguished Alumni

Charley Been, class of 1977, graduated from the School of Diesel & Heavy Equipment and is currently shop foreman at MHC Kenworth in Tulsa.

Scott Johnson, class of 2000, graduated from the School of Engineering Technologies and is currently director of healthcare solutions for York Electronic Systems, Inc., in Broken Arrow.

Mike Rampey, class of 1974, graduated from the School of Construction Technologies and is now owner of Air Assurance Company in Broken Arrow.

Bob Smith, class of 1973, graduated from the School of Automotive Technologies and now owns Bob Smith Coachworks in Gainesville, Texas.

Mark Wyatt, class of 1982, graduated from the School of Visual Communications and is now owner of Agency Creative in Dallas.

Rising Stars

Brandon Harn, class of 2008, graduated from the School of Visual Communications and is currently associate creative director of publishing for Ackerman McQueen in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Dylan Ingram, class of 2014, graduated from the School of Construction Technologies and is currently field engineer for Sherwood Construction Co., Inc., in Tulsa.

Kyndl Rowland, class of 2014, graduated from the School of Visual Communications and is currently creative designer at Saatchi & Saatchi X in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

The Alumni Homecoming Reception is open to the public. Seating is limited in Covelle Hall, and reservations are encouraged. RSVP online at osuit.edu/alumni/rsvp.


Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology is a recognized leader in applied technology education and is known for world-class teaching facilities, partnerships with industry, and a nearly 100 percent career placement rate.

Main Campus:
1801 E 4th Street
Okmulgee, OK 74447
+1 800 722 4471